Italian Doorway, Carrie Lacey Boerio, 2015
Italian Doorway, Carrie Lacey Boerio, 2015

I finished my painting of a character-filled doorway we saw in Italy. My family thinks it’s funny that I am always taking photos of doors and windows. Is it the feeling of welcome, or maybe the mystery of what lies on the other side? For historic homes, I think it’s the idea of many generations having crossed the threshold.

My biggest challenge for this painting was deciding when to stop. It’s not perfect, so I could tweak it forever. I’ve finished paintings in a single two-hour session, but once I have the intent to work on it over time, the end point seems fuzzy. I read about an artist who finishes several paintings in one afternoon while moving quickly from one canvas to another accompanied by loud music. And another who takes a year to complete his photo-realistic work, which he paints one square inch at a time. My artist daughter says she is done when with a piece she gets tired of looking at it. What do you think?