Summer. Hot, bright and colorful. I went to a park near my house to paint plein air. These flowers were blooming madly… practically glowing in the dappled sunlight. I started with a rough painted sketch, blocked in the background colors, then went all-in with a palette knife and lots of paint. I like the way the wall looked with loosely mixed colors. But I felt like the blue sky was too flat, so I tried experimenting with painting broken color with a brush, hoping it would be interesting but not overwhelm the center of interest.The painting took two hours from start to finish. I think it conveys how much I enjoyed the riot of color and the bright feel of the day. Best advice:  if something you are doing looks or feels right, just go with it!

My subject
My subject
Work in progress - after blocking in background colors
Work in progress – after blocking in background colors
“Summer Blooms” by Carrie Lacey Boerio, 2015