BethGrandCanyon-final
“Hike’s reward” oil painting by Carrie Lacey Boerio

 

I learned something important painting this one. My friend commissioned me, and gave me a beautiful reference photo of his wife enjoying the view after hiking in the Grand Canyon. I used the image on my iPad to maintain the bold colors. My mistake was zooming in on one section at a time when I started laying in the color. It just doesn’t work as well as seeing the whole painting at once. Everything is relative… like puzzle pieces that fit together. Luckily, I didn’t head too far in the wrong direction so it was easy to correct. I loved using these vibrant colors, and loved knowing my friend would get a fun surprise gift. BEST ADVICE: Don’t forget to compare all of the elements to each other. #art #painting #landscape #grandcanyon #commission #customgift